Cooperative Facts

Clarke-Washington EMC…

  • Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation is a rural electric utility cooperative.
  • A cooperative is a form of business that is owned by the people who use its services.
  • Clarke-Washington EMC serves Clarke and Washington Counties and parts of Wilcox and Monroe Counties.
  • Clarke-Washington EMC was the first rural electric cooperative organized in Alabama, and was incorporated on March 2, 1936 in Coffeeville.
  • The original incorporators were Joe C. McCorquodale Sr., president; Ben Glover, vice-president; C.R. Myrick, secretary-treasurer; R.S. McNeil; and H.E. Langlois.
  • Clarke-Washington EMC is a not-for-profit electric cooperative owned by its members. The board of trustees represents CWEMC. The general manager and his staff handle day-to-day functions of the co-op.

Touchstone Energy Cooperative Facts:

  • Touchstone Energy is an alliance of local, consumer owned utilities around the country, committed to providing superior service at affordable rates to all customers, large and small.
  • In 1998, Clarke-Washington EMC, along with over 1,000 other electric cooperatives, added the Touchstone Energy name and logo to emphasize our commitment to community and to you, the membership.
  • Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation and Touchstone Energy cooperative values are: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.

The Seven Cooperative Principles are:

  1. Open and voluntary membership
  2. Democratic member control
  3. Member economic participation including limited return on investment and return of surplus to members
  4. Cooperative autonomy and independence
  5.  Cooperative education, training and information
  6. Cooperation among cooperatives and
  7. Concern for community
Scroll to Top